ماذا تتوقع في رحلة إلى تركمانستان

ماذا تتوقع في رحله إلى تركمانستان؟

ماذا تتوقع في رحله إلى تركمانستان؟

ماذا تتوقع في رحلة إلى تركمانستان 2021-02-25T19:30:11-05:00

ماذا تتوقع في رحله إلى تركمانستان؟

تتميز بوابة طريق الحرير من الشرق الأوسط عن غيرها من "ستانس" في الثقافة والتاريخ والمناظر الطبيعية ، وللجنون المطلق ، لا يوجد مكان آخر في العالم مثلها تمامًا.

لماذا يجب أن تذهب

فكر في كرم الضيافة في الشرق الأوسط - بعد ثلاث لقطات من الفودكا. كونك بعيدًا عن المسار السياحي ، ستجد أشخاصًا فضوليين حقًا ، فخورون بإعطائك تاريخًا رائعًا وتقاليدهم ، ويمنحك أفضل الأشياء في الحياة.

عندما انهار الاتحاد السوفياتي في عام 1991 ، أصبحت دول آسيا الوسطى الخمس دولًا قائمة بذاتها لأول مرة ، واستبدلت الشيوعية بهويات وطنية مزدهرة. تركمانستان سرعان ما اشتهر بعبادة الشخصية الغريبة للرئيس الراحل نيازوف ، الذي توفي في عام 2006 ، وحول العاصمة عشق أباد إلى مزار لنفسه ، بما في ذلك تمثال ذهبي يدور مع الشمس.

لطالما كانت آسيا الوسطى مفترق طرق للإمبراطوريات من الفرس القدامى مروراً بجنكيز خان وبريطانيا الإمبراطورية وروسيا ، ومؤخراً كانت الطرف الجنوبي من الاتحاد السوفيتي.

ماذا تتوقع في رحلة إلى تركمانستان

ثقافة

الثقافة التركمانية هي أكثر بكثير من مجرد نيازوف وخليفته ، الرئيس الحالي قربانقولي بيردي محمدوف ، على الرغم من وجود الكثير من الكتب الدعائية التي يمكنك شراؤها لتتذكرها بعد فترة طويلة من مغادرتك.

أحفاد القبائل البدوية الصحراوية ، يبث التركمان في إسلامهم روحانية. ستجد مزارات الحجاج منتشرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، حيث يتوقف السكان المحليون للعبادة ، ويتركون الأشياء من أجل الحظ ، ويحضرون الطقوس ، مثل التجول حول المآذن في دوائر.

يعتبر الخبز مقدسًا عند التركمان ، لذلك يتم كسره باليد فقط ، ولا يتم التخلص منه أبدًا. قرب أيام نيازوف الأخيرة الأكثر جنونًا ، حتى أنه أعاد تسميتها باسم Gurbansoltan ، على اسم والدته.

بينما يوجد الكثير من المأكولات الإقليمية ، مثل plov (طبق أرز أوزبكي لذيذ) ، والمفضلات الروسية بما في ذلك الكافيار من بحر قزوين ، تخصص تركمانستان هو shashlyk، اللحوم والخضروات المشوية على الفحم المكشوف والتي تأخذ طعمًا سحريًا تقريبًا ، وغسلها بالطبع مع البيرة والفودكا.

ماذا تتوقع في رحلة إلى تركمانستان

ما يمكن توقعه

مع مثل هذا التاريخ غير العادي ، كن مستعدًا لبعض لحظات السفر البرية. يعتبر عبور الحدود تجربة بحد ذاتها ، ومن المؤكد تقريبًا أن الحراس سوف يمرون بأمتعتك - حتى أنني وجدت أنا وصديقي أنفسنا مضطرين إلى تمثيل دور حبوب منع الحمل ، والسماح للحراس باللعب مع أجهزة iPhone الخاصة بنا وعرض صور لهم الحياة في الوطن.

في مناخ سياسي قمعي ، لن يكون مفاجئًا أن تكون الشرطة حساسة تجاه التصوير الفوتوغرافي ، لا سيما حول المباني الحكومية في عشق أباد. أفضل رهان هو أن تسأل مرشدك ، ولكن إذا كنت بمفردك أو تشعر بالخداع ، فكن منفصلاً ، وإذا تم إيقافك (عادةً ما تصدر الشرطة صفيرًا) ، فاستعد لإظهار الكاميرا الخاصة بك وعرض حذف اللقطات المسيئة. قد تتعارض النساء المحليات أيضًا مع التقاط صورهن ، لذا اسأل دائمًا أولاً.

بصفتك مسافرة في مكان محافظ ثقافيًا ، اتخذ الاحتياطات المعتادة مثل عدم المشي بمفردك في الليل ، ولكن المشكلة الوحيدة التي من المحتمل أن تواجهها هي التحديق قليلاً.

اترك رد

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

What to expect on a trip to Turkmenistan

What to expect on a trip to Turkmenistan?

What to expect on a trip to Turkmenistan?

What to expect on a trip to Turkmenistan 2021-02-25T19:30:11-05:00

What to expect on a trip to Turkmenistan?

The gateway to the Silk Road from the Middle East is distinct from the other ‘Stans’ in culture, history, and landscape, and for sheer craziness, there is nowhere else in the world quite like it.

Why you should go

Think Middle Eastern hospitality – after three shots of vodka. Being well off the tourist trail, you’ll find genuinely curious people, proud to let you in on their fascinating history and traditions, and ply you with the best things in life.

When the USSR crumbled in 1991, the five Central Asian states became countries in their own right for the first time, and replaced communism with burgeoning national identities. Turkmenistan soon became known for the bizarre personality cult of the late President Niyazov, who died in 2006, turning the capital Ashgabat into a shrine to himself, including a golden statue that rotated with the sun.

Central Asia has long been the crossroads of empires from the ancient Persians through Genghis Khan, imperial Britain and Russia, and most recently as the southernmost tip of the Soviet Union.

What to expect on a trip to Turkmenistan

Culture

Turkmen culture is far more than just Niyazov and his successor, current president Gurbanguly Berdimukhamedov, although there’s plenty of propaganda books you can buy to remember them long after you’ve left.

Descendants of nomadic desert tribes, the Turkmen infuse their Islam with animism. You’ll find pilgrims’ shrines dotted all around the country, with locals stopping to worship, leave items for luck, and attend to rituals, like walking around minarets in circles.

Bread is sacred to the Turkmen, so it’s only broken by hand, and never, ever thrown out. Towards Niyazov’s last, maddest days, he even renamed it Gurbansoltan, after his mother.

While there’s lots of regional cuisine, like plov (a delicious Uzbek rice dish), and Russian favourites including caviar from the Caspian Sea, Turkmenistan’s speciality is shashlyk, open-coal barbecued meat and vegetables that take on an almost magical deliciousness, washed down, of course, with beer and vodka.

What to expect on a trip to Turkmenistan

What to expect

With such an unusual history, be prepared for a few wild travel moments. The border crossing is an experience in itself, and the guards will almost certainly go through your luggage – my friend and I even found ourselves having to mime the role of the contraceptive pill, and let the guards play with our iPhones and show them  photos of life back home.

In a repressive political climate, it won’t come as much of a surprise that the police can be sensitive about photography, particularly around government buildings in Ashgabat. Your best bet it is to ask your guide, but if you’re alone or feeling cheeky, be discrete, and if stopped (police will usually whistle), be prepared to show them your camera and offer to delete offending snaps. Local women may also be adverse to having their photograph taken, so always ask first.

As a female traveller in a culturally conservative place, take the usual precautions like not walking alone at night, but the only trouble you’re likely to encounter is a bit of staring.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.